I argued with God.

“But God,” I complained. “I’ve been working REALLY diligently on [this thing] and no one seems to have noticed. I need someone to notice!”

I sensed His answer: “It doesn’t matter if anyone notices. You’re doing what I told you to do. I notice.”

Somehow, that just isn’t the same, is it? Sure, it’s great to know we’re being obedient in the sometimes-mundane tasks He has called us to. But sometimes, we just need a little human validation.

Paul must have known this to be the case, because he wrote in I Corinthians 15:

“Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.

There are days, yes, where we will get accolades from others because of what we’re doing – whether it’s at church, on our jobs, or at home with our families. But sometimes (more often than not) we have to be content to know that if we’re consistently doing what we’re supposed to, HE notices, and HE has promised that our work is not in vain.

We just have to, as my grandfather used to say, “Keep on, keepin’ on” for Him.

 

