I have been on a LOT of long car rides in my time.

My mom traveled around the country singing the Gospel when I was a child, and we spent many summers (and sometimes school days too) in various vehicles, the four of us kids trying to keep occupied in the days before Nintendos and portable DVD players.

I attended a college 500 miles away from my home, and made most of the trips back and forth by myself. I really enjoy private time (see the four kids mentioned above!) and, besides the occasional car trouble, enjoyed those hours on the road.

I continued those long treks after we got married, and settled 550 miles from my hometown for those first few years.

I thought about those long journeys recently, on my way home from a late night at my job – a mere 30-minute drive from home. I was so tired, and even though I was only operating my vehicle, I briefly thought that I just couldn’t go on any longer. I’d just stop right there, in the middle of the interstate.

I’d be done with my journey, but I wouldn’t be where I needed to be.

I dismissed that ridiculous thought – after all, I had my home, my family, and (most importantly) my bed waiting on me. Rest would be mine, but I’d never have that rest if I stopped in my tracks.

Then I started thinking about the spiritual implications of stopping in the middle of our journey.

Maybe it’s praying for that lost loved one who it seems will never begin serving God. Maybe it’s continuing to struggle with that issue that has plagued you for years, and you haven’t won the victory over it yet. Maybe it’s pressing in for that deeper walk with the Lord when the Heavens seem to be shut up tight.

Whatever it is, don’t stop! Don’t give up along the road, because you will never know the rest and reward that will be waiting on you when you reach your destination.

“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.” – Galatians 6:9

Keep that foot on the gas pedal, and your eyes on the horizon!

