When I was a kid growing up in church, I would hear this verse quoted, a lot:

“Pray without ceasing.”

And, I’d think, “How on earth do you do that? I mean, I have cartoons to watch, and Barbies to play with, and three younger siblings to bicker with. Who has time to pray without ceasing?”

Yes, those were childish pursuits. But often, we as adults are as guilty of not making time for God. Praying without ceasing doesn’t mean that we spend all day, every day on our “prayer bones” (as my Papaw would say). It means that we go through each day with an attitude of praise and prayer, continually allowing ourselves a dialogue with the Father.

One of the ways I practice this is by breathing simple prayers as I go through my day. Maybe it’s for someone in my church family, or and old friend. I do what Paul wrote in Philippians 1:

“Every time you cross my mind, I break out in exclamations of thanks to God. Each exclamation is a trigger to prayer. I find myself praying for you with a glad heart.

We all have people’s names and situations “cross our minds” throughout the day. Follow Paul and let those passing thoughts become prayer prompts. You may never know that the one who is on your mind is going through something that needs prayer, and you can help get them through it.

It will strengthen them, and strengthen us, when we are obedient to Him.

