Have you ever had a passage of scripture, or a song, or something similar be presented to you at different times, in different ways, in a short period of time?

I have, and it always makes me pause and ask God what He’s speaking to me at that moment.

Earlier in the day, I’d seen Matthew 11:28-30 during a meeting I was in. We all know it, you can probably quote it:

“Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

I’ve been in church since before I was born, so yeah, I’d heard it a lot. The problem was, I wasn’t very good at implementing it in my real life. I’m the oldest of four, so as the first-born I was used to having to do things for myself. I have a real problem asking others for assistance – sometimes, even God.

I thought, “That’s a nice sentiment and all, God, but how do I get from Point A to Point B in this scenario?”

That night as I was tucking my daughter into bed, we got out her devotion book and started our lesson. This was the key verse for the day:

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

I almost didn’t recognize it at first, because it was out of The Message translation. And then I thought, “Ok, God, what’s going on here?”

So, I pondered it the rest of the night, and the next morning I re-read the passage in that translation. Something jumped out at me that I’d missed the night before:

“Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it.”

Is there anything He desires more than spending time with His children? I’ve read the Bible from cover to cover many times over, and I can’t think of anything. Yes, He wants us to obey His statutes and carry out His purpose for our lives, but He knows that at the root of it all is spending time with Him.

I may have struggled for years with the “take my yoke upon you and learn of me” part of that passage, but when you put it that way – “Walk with me and work with me” – that, I can handle.

He doesn’t want us to keep struggling to serve Him, to do the work He’s called us to do. All He wants is for us to spend time with Him, to really get to know Him and His ways, and He knows that we will become what we need to for Him.

What yoke is He wanting to take from you today?

