There is an old song I love that says:

Jesus, be a fence all around me every day/I want you to protect me as I travel on the way

I was going through a trial, happily singing the song to myself as reassurance of God’s protection in trouble (which, of course, He is). And then, I listened to myself sing the next part of the chorus:

I know You can, I know You will/fight my battles if I just keep still

Of course. That song isn’t proclaiming the truth that the Lord is our protector as we’re fighting the battle. It’s reminding us that we don’t need to fight, that He will fight for us. That “fence” in the song is to keep us still so He can do His work!

Moses spoke to the people: “Don’t be afraid. Stand firm and watch God do his work of salvation for you today. Take a good look at the Egyptians today for you’re never going to see them again. (Exodus 14:13)

Stand still, and watch Him work!

