Even though my daughter has reached the decade mark, she still comes and climbs into bed with me when she’s scared or she’s had a bad dream. Most of the time, I just roll over and try to make room. It’s odd though – a girl who is used to sleeping in a twin bed, suddenly feels the need to use the whole king sized mattress to sleep! There are many times when I’d like to march her back down the hall to her bed so I can sleep easier, but I try to persevere and be thankful that she still considers my presence a place of safety and comfort.

God’s word tells us that He is our Heavenly Father, but it also shows us a different side of him: Daddy. That word, “abba,” connotes a much more tender, intimate relationship we can have with Him when we need comfort and peace.

You can tell for sure that you are now fully adopted as his own children because God sent the Spirit of his Son into our lives crying out, “Papa! Father!” Doesn’t that privilege of intimate conversation with God make it plain that you are not a slave, but a child? (Gal. 4:6)

Whatever you need today, you can cry out to your Heavenly “Papa” – even if your earthly father was less-than-perfect. God is always waiting to hear from you!

