When I was a child growing up in church, there was a term bandied about that I don’t think I’ve heard in quite a while: Holy boldness.

It was used when people were praying for the courage to share their faith, or to walk out what God had instructed them to do. I don’t know why that phrase has fallen into disfavor, but I think it needs to make a comeback.

Too often in our lives, we hold back from what we know we should be doing for God – whether it’s approaching a co-worker about their spiritual life, or correcting our children when they’ve misbehaved. “Political correctness” has become today’s new buzzword, even in our own homes.

Paul reminded Timothy in 2 Timothy 1 not to be timid in using the gifts God had given him:

“And the special gift of ministry you received when I laid hands on you and prayed—keep that ablaze! God doesn’t want us to be shy with his gifts, but bold and loving and sensible. “

Bold, loving, and sensible. Those are the three tests for our using God’s gifts to reach our world. Holy boldness loves others and uses wisdom to draw them in.

I pray that each of us discovers, or rediscovers, our “Holy boldness!”

