“This is God’s Word on the subject: “As soon as Babylon’s seventy years are up and not a day before, I’ll show up and take care of you as I promised and bring you back home. I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.” (Jeremiah 29:10-11)

Raise your hand if your life has turned out exactly as you planned it. Please. Because I want to come hang out with you for a few days, and see how you accomplished this!

When I was in high school, I had a “plan” for my life. I was going to be single (no interest in marriage or a family) and live on my own (I CRAVE solitude) with a few cats and a collection of awesome shoes. I was probably going to be a teacher, but I was definitely going to be doing it all on my own.

Fast forward a few years. I am married and have a daughter. I not only don’t live by myself, I live next door to my parents! And, I have neither a cat (thanks to my allergic husband) or awesome shoes (thanks to both budget constraints and good sense.) To top it all off, I’m not even a teacher!

As you can plainly see, God had a plan for my life that was vastly different from my own.

I’d be willing to be that more than a few of you out there under the Tin Roof Sky feel the same way. Sometimes, we think we know ourselves the best so we can best plan our lives.

God laughs at our arrogance, I’m sure of it.

His plans are always – always – the best. They are plans to give us a future and a hope. It may not seem like it at the time, but we can trust Him. His word bears it out time after time.

So, the next time you’re tempted to be upset because things aren’t going according to “your” plan, stop. Look at the big picture. Try to discern where God is going with the situations in life, and try to align yourself with His plan.

Just be prepared for some unexpected, but ultimately rewarding, detours.

