“Catch for us the foxes, the little foxes that ruin the vineyards, our vineyards that are in bloom.” Song of Solomon 2:15

When I turned 29, my birthday present to myself was better health. I was severely overweight, and had been most of my life. I knew that the older that I got, the harder it would be to lose those extra pounds, and I had just started a new position at work that required me to get from behind a desk and interact with the public more often.

Over the course of three years, I lost 90 pounds. I felt great, I looked great, and my self-confidence soared. But, at that point two things happened: I plateaued, gaining and losing the same couple of pounds over and over; and, I decided to strike it out on my own, taking what I’d learned over three years of a structured program and go it alone.

Guess what happened? Three years on, I’ve gained…a little…of that weight back. Not all of it. Not even the majority of it. But enough that I had to go up a size, and I feel pretty terrible about myself every time I look in a mirror or see myself on film.

My sister (who has also spent years journeying down this road) asked if I was eating badly at work, because she wasn’t seeing me eat poorly at home. I told her it was the little temptations around me: a brownie at a meeting, a delicious dessert at a get-together, a handfull of chips while I waited on dinner to cook.

It was the small things that were adding up to increase my waistline and decrease my sense of worth.

Sometimes in our lives, it isn’t the “big” things that cause us to not fulfill our potential in God. We might not be stealing, murdering, or cheating on our spouses. But, we might be gossiping, complaining, or neglecting our quiet time with Him.

Let’s determine today that we won’t let those “little foxes” spoil what God is wanting to accomplish in our lives. Let’s be vigilant against those seemingly “little things” that make a big impact on our walk with God. Let’s hold each other accountable for keeping up our spiritual health on a regular basis.

The more we’re on guard for those foxes, the more effective we’ll be for the Kingdom.

