“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God.” John 1:1-2

One day my ten-year-old daughter and I were sitting a lunch on a Sunday. Her dad was at a meeting, so it was just the two of us. We generally discuss what we learned from our respective worship services that day, but I was completely unprepared for what she asked me.

“Mom, if God knows what we’re going to do anyway, why doesn’t He make us do stuff?”

It’s a hard concept for adults to understand, nevermind a child. If God knows what we’re going to do, and it’s going to be something bad, why doesn’t He stop us? Because of that thing He built into us from the get-go: free will. He wants to give us the chance to do what we should. It’s the only way He can be sure we’re in relationship with Him because we want to be, and not because we’re forced to be.

He knew that Adam and Eve would be tempted and sin, that much is true. But the Bible also teaches us that there was no “Plan B” in the Garden of Eden. God was aware of what was going to happen, and He was prepared.

Jesus.

Jesus coming to earth wasn’t God’s back-up plan. It was in the works all along, to bring us back into relationship with the Father.

I, for one, am thankful that I serve a God who knows my faults, loves me through them, and makes preparation for me to come back to Him.

What unspeakable, incomprehensible love, and what a beautiful thought to start out the Christmas season.

