Hello, my name is Melissa and I’m a coupon-aholic.

If there’s a deal to be had or a coupon to be clipped, I am all over it.

So, you can imagine my joy when I had a coupon from one of my favorite stores for several dollars off a sweater, and then walked into that store to see that their sweaters were on sale for 30% off!

As I approached the cash register, I was more than a little perturbed that the sweater rang up for full price. But, I calmly asked the cashier to check again, and explained that the sign on the shelf had proclaimed the discount.

A manager was called, who agreed with the cash register but who was willing to check the sales rack. I spent an anxious few minutes waiting for her to return. We paid for the rest of our merchandise so the line could continue to move, and we waited.

And waited.

And waited.

I was beginning to think that I was going to have to leave sweater-less, because it was almost time to pick my daughter up from school.

When the manager finally returned, she said that only the sweaters on the front of the shelf (which were more expensive) were on sale, not the ones on the back of the shelf (where I’d gotten mine). But, since the sign clearly indicated that all the sweaters were supposed to be discounted, she agreed to give me the sale price.

I was pleasantly surprised when the sweater rang up for not 30%, but 50% off – and, combined with my coupon, I paid 1/3 of the original price!

I was immediately glad I’d waited. I would have missed out on an unexpected blessing if I’d let my impatience and anxiety get the best of me!

I thought of the verse from Isaiah as I left the store that afternoon:

“But those who wait upon God get fresh strength. They spread their wings and soar like eagles, they run and don’t get tired, they walk and don’t lag behind.”

How many times do we get impatient and anxious waiting on God for something, and give up before our blessing comes? How much have we missed out on because we didn’t think we could bear waiting just a little longer on Him?

He has strength for the journey, provision for everyday, and untold blessings for us if we will learn to trust His timing.

I never want to miss a blessing because I walked out of the store too early. Lord, help me to wait on you!

 

