“God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.” Ephesians 3:20

I’ve always had a vivid imagination. As a child, it sometimes served me well as I made up vast imaginary worlds during playtime or wrote stories for school.

Other times, though, it’s been my downfall.

Surely, I’m not the only one who has gotten her hopes up about something – an experience, a gift, a relationship – only to have them dashed because the reality couldn’t possibly live up to my expectations. It can be devastating, even in adulthood.

Today’s verse in Ephesians reminds us that there is only One who will never let us down, because only He is able to not only do what we imagine – He can do much more! And, He helps us accomplish those dreams in our lives by working within us.

Even me, with my overactive imagination – God can do MORE than that, and He will work to get it done through ME!

That’s an exciting prospect as we enter the new year.

May our imaginings be God-inspired, God-imagined, and God-accomplished in 2012!

