“‘All things are lawful,’ but not all things are helpful. ‘All things are lawful,’ but not all things build up.” 1 Cor. 10:23

Free will is a pretty awesome thing. The good news is, it lets us make decisions about many things in our lives.

The bad news is, it lets us make decisions about many things in our lives.

In I Corinthians, Paul tells us that while a lot of things might be acceptable – lawful, permissible – they might not all be to our benefit and they might even be harmful in the long run.

Yes, it’s permissible for me to stay out all night before I have a big presentation due at work tomorrow, but is it a good idea?

Yes, it’s within my rights to watch that television show with its lewd content, but is it going to help strengthen me?

Yes (and this one is a doozy) it’s OK for me to eat that candy bar staring me down in the pantry, but will it bring my body the nourishment it needs?

Here at the dawn of a new year, I challenge us to examine our lives and ask ourselves: Is it really a good idea? I think we might be surprised at how much “unprofitable” activity there is going on.

