My daughter has beautiful, long red hair. Unfortunately, she also has an aversion to having that hair brushed or styled!

As she’s gotten older, she’s taken more of the responsibility for caring for her hair. I don’t supervise her showers as closely as I used to, and she brushes it on her own most days.

If I don’t check behind her every few days, though, I find that she’s just gotten the surface tangles. The top layer looks beautiful, shiny, and smooth. Underneath¬† – well, it’s a big tangled mess I have to help her get straight.

If we aren’t careful, we can get so busy in our day-to-day lives that we just gloss over our issues on the surface, and never get below them to untangle the real knots. Eventually, it’s a major operation to get things cleared up.

Let’s take time each day to focus on going deeper – with God, with others, and with ourselves – and get those problems under control before they become more than we can handle.

