“We who have run for our very lives to God have every reason to grab the promised hope with both hands and never let go.” Hebrews 6:18

I know less than nothing about basketball. Really. I’m as lost as a goose when it comes to that sport (or any other, for that matter). I can’t tell an assist from a layup from a double double. Whatever that is.

Well, that isn’t completely true. I’ve learned one thing while watching my daughter pound the hardwoods: You can’t make a score if you aren’t in possession of the ball!

The same thing goes for God’s promises. You have to know them, believe them, possess them if they’re going to do any good.

And more than that, I like how The Message puts it: “We who have run for our very lives to God have every reason to grab the promised hope with both hands and never let go.”

Both hands. Never let go. Just like the girls on my daughter’s team fight for that ball, wrestling each other until one comes out with the prize, we have to hold on to God’s word with everything within us – no matter who or what tries to knock it out of our hands.

Discover God’s promises. Hide His word in your heart. Don’t let anyone or anything keep you from making that score!

