One night as I drove home from a late meeting, I listened to a news story on the radio about farmers who were investing hundreds of thousands of dollars building more, bigger, and more sophisticated silos for their grain. The price of their product had skyrocketed in the past several years, giving them both the operating cash and the motivation to store their corn themselves instead of renting space from a third party.

Not one of the farmers I heard mentioned what they would do with all those buildings if prices began to fall, or if there were a few bad years. None of them seemed to think about the consequences of putting so much of their money and time into storage units for something that wasn’t guaranteed.

I was reminded of a story Jesus told in the book of Luke:

Then he told them this story: “The farm of a certain rich man produced a terrific crop. He talked to himself: ‘What can I do? My barn isn’t big enough for this harvest.’ Then he said, ‘Here’s what I’ll do: I’ll tear down my barns and build bigger ones. Then I’ll gather in all my grain and goods, and I’ll say to myself, Self, you’ve done well! You’ve got it made and can now retire. Take it easy and have the time of your life!’

“Just then God showed up and said, ‘Fool! Tonight you die. And your barnful of goods—who gets it?’

 “That’s what happens when you fill your barn with Self and not with God.”

When we fill our barns with “self,” we’re setting store by something that’s undependable. But when we fill our barns with God, we have Someone we can rely on no matter what life circumstances are.

What are you filling your barns with?

