I was driving down a street one day, a street I’d driven down several times a week for years and every day for the past year.

All of a sudden, out of the corner of my eye, I spotted something that I’d never see before. It was a line of several houses, set quite a ways off the road. They weren’t tiny shacks, either. They were large, two-story dwellings.

How in the world had I missed those before?

Part of it, I suspect, was that the conditions were just right. Since it was winter the trees in front of the homes were bare and their leaves provided little covering from the main road. It was a gray day, and one of the houses was bright yellow, catching my eye.

But, could it be that I saw them because I was looking?

Many times people make excuses as to why they don’t study God’s word. Maybe they think they don’t have time, or that they won’t learn anything. Maybe they think they’ve read it all before.

I’m here to tell you that none of those reasons are good enough to neglect studying the scriptures.

I’m here to testify that even though I’ve read the Bible cover-to-cover many times, even though I’ve sat in sermons and Bible studies and Sunday School classes and even Bible college courses – I still find new things in His word.

Not because I am special.

Because I’m looking.

When we approach the Bible with a sense of expectancy, waiting for Him to open it up to our understanding, we can rest assured that He will.

No, we may not understand everything we read, or get something new every time we read a familiar passage, but if we are consistent and faithful we might be surprised by what we find.

Just like those houses I’ve passed for years and never seen, if we keep our eyes open, we will be rewarded.

It’s the thrill of discovery, and it can happen at any time!

