“There’s an opportune time to do things, a right time for everything on the earth” Ecclesiastes 3:1

My daughter is having a hard time waiting lately, and it’s reminding me of my own impatience.

Her dad and I have had a busy few weeks, and haven’t paid her allowance.

She will get the money. She has earned it. I just haven’t had time (in our cashless society) to get the funds to her. Her plight is made more urgent (in her eyes at least) because she’s about to go on an overnight class trip, and they’ve been promised a visit to a mall!

She’s been reminding me for the past few days that I haven’t paid her allowance in three weeks. I think she’s getting afraid that she won’t get it at all (or at least not in time for her trip). I want her to trust me and my ability to supply her need in a timely fashion!

Unfortunately, I can treat God the same way sometimes.

“God, when are you going to get me out of this situation? God, when are you going to meet this need? God, how long do I have to go through this trial?”

He has a purpose, and a plan, and a time for everything – our deliverance, our provision, our healing. An appointed time that will be better than anything we could have dreamed up.

I’m asking the Lord to forgive me for my impatience and asking when, instead of trusting in His care. Maybe eventually it won’t be such a battle, but that day isn’t today – and tomorrow isn’t looking so good either.

I pray that we will put our faith in the One who made time itself, and who controls the rising and setting of the sun. I pray that we will not be like impatient children, but mature, trusting men and women of God who rely on His perfect will in our lives.

