“I have set the Lord always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.” Ps. 16:8

My van has a peculiar (to me, at least) problem: often, in the morning, a film begins to grow on the windshield. I can run my wipers and clear it off, but it just comes right back again! I don’t know what causes it, so I don’t know how to fix it. I just have to deal with the situation until it resolves itself.

I’ve noticed that on mornings when it isn’t enough to completely impede my view, I still have to try to clear it off. Why? Because my eyes have the tendency to focus on the film, rather than the road ahead. Even if it isn’t clouding my vision, it’s still causing a dangerous driving experience.

The Lord has promised to be with us in all circumstances, but sometimes we get our eyes off Him and onto our problems. When that happens, we become so spiritually nearsighted that we put ourselves in danger of the enemy’s attacks.

He has only promised to keep us in perfect peace if we keep our minds fixed on Him. He can only keep us from being defeated if we keep our eyes on Him. Through trusting in Him, we can say with the Psalmist that we will not be shaken, and we will come through the storm.

