“We’re not barging in on the rightful work of others, interfering with their ministries, demanding a place in the sun with them. What we’re hoping for is that as your lives grow in faith, you’ll play a part within our expanding work.” 2 Cor. 10:15

I recently started a “mild” exercise program, and came to a stark realization. I hadn’t used some of these muscles in a long, long time!

I was sore. Oh, how sore I was! Even though I knew that eventually I’d get through it, that didn’t help the pain I felt. It hurt to move, to laugh, even to eat!

(Hey – maybe I was on to something!)

The point is, when we’re exercising our “faith muscle” it can hurt at first, too. No one likes to go through tough times. But if we push through the pain, continuing on in God’s strength, we will be better off for it. You’ve heard the saying, “There’s no test without a testimony” and it’s true!

We’re to grow our faith through it’s regular use in our lives, so that we’ll be strengthened and can turn around and help others.

The Lord never promised that the Christian life would be easy. A look back through history confirms that we aren’t the first to follow Him through trials. But the more we use the small portion of faith we have, the more that faith will grow – and the stronger we will be.

