“You take over. I’m about to die, my life an offering on God’s altar. This is the only race worth running. I’ve run hard right to the finish, believed all the way. All that’s left now is the shouting—God’s applause! Depend on it, he’s an honest judge. He’ll do right not only by me, but by everyone eager for his coming.” 2 Timothy 4:6-8

School will be out in just a couple of days for my daughter and millions of other children around the country. In fact, a lucky few are already done!

Even though I’m no stay-at-home-mom, school’s end does present me with some means of respite. I can sleep a whole hour later! I don’t have to worry about homework, snack money, or school projects! Sometimes I don’t know who is more excited – her or me!

Since the end is so near, it might be tempting just to keep her home. The absences really won’t matter, right? And it would be a few more days of extra shut-eye that I desperately need right now.

But, our jumping the gun on her vacation would come with a price. She hasn’t finished her courses quite yet. She still has three days of exams ahead of her, making sure she’s learned what was required of her this year. Without taking (and passing) those tests, all the other work we’ve put in to this year would be in vain. She would fail, and be in this grade all over again next year. NOT worth it!

The Christian life is like that, too. We are faced with struggles, trials, and tests almost daily. We have lessons we must learn, but if we give up before this school of life is over, it’s all been for naught. God must give us “final exams” to prove that we’ve learned the lessons He was teaching during this season of life.

It might seem like the easy road to give up now, but don’t faint! Stay faithful to His course, pass those tests, and get ready to move to the next challenge. It’s a never-ending school of the soul!

