“Sing songs from your heart to Christ. Sing praises over everything, any excuse for a song to God the Father in the name of our Master, Jesus Christ.” Ephesians 5:19-20

Music is a powerful thing. Think about it – the people who wrote blues music, were going through some tough times of their own. And how do you feel when you listen to the blues? More often than not, you find that you’ve got the blues yourself!

In the same way, praise music can heal a wounded heart, strengthen a weary soul, or raise our spirits out of a pit of despair. Many times I have found myself down and in a foul mood. But, when I begin to praise God – even out of the pain I’m in – well, my circumstances may not change, but I begin to change. Hope and healing flood my heart. I gather the strength to make it just a little further.

If you aren’t a “musical” person, I urge you to find some good, Godly tunes. Load them onto your mp3 player or put the CDs in your car. Get the message into your spirit and (whether you can carry a tune or not!) try singing a few. You will most likely notice a difference in your demeanor, and those around you will notice as well.

“I sing to God, the Praise-Lofty, and find myself safe and saved.” Psalm 18:3

