“Don’t fool yourself into thinking that you are a listener when you are anything but, letting the Word go in one ear and out the other. Act on what you hear! Those who hear and don’t act are like those who glance in the mirror, walk away, and two minutes later have no idea who they are, what they look like.” James 1:22-24

Mmmm, coffee. Is there any better way (besides time with the Lord) to start off your day? I don’t think so!

Since I got my fancy coffee maker for Christmas, it’s been easier than ever to get my “coffee fix.” Just turn on the machine, load it up, and push the brew button. Except one morning I did all that, and was disappointed to return to an empty cup!

I soon realized my mistake. While the water was heated, and the coffee was loaded, I’d forgotten that vital last step. I hadn’t told the machine to brew the coffee! Pushing the brew button finally got me the results I was after.

Our walk with God operates on a similar principle.

We can study the word, spend time in prayer, do all sorts of good works and sing our hearts out during corporate worship services. But if we don’t put those things we’re studying into practice, we’ll never get the results He desires. We’ll be no better than that empty coffee cup: full of potential, but empty of anything substantial.

When you’re gathering up all the knowledge of Him that you can, don’t forget to push that “brew” button on your life and get the most out of what you’re learning. It will be pleasing to Him, and beneficial to you.

