“The Israelite cry for help has come to me, and I’ve seen for myself how cruelly they’re being treated by the Egyptians. It’s time for you to go back: I’m sending you to Pharaoh to bring my people, the People of Israel, out of Egypt.” Exodus 3:9-10

I was walking the halls of the church where I work recently, and on a whiteboard there remained this (paraphrased) verse, a remnant of a lesson taught in that classroom several days before: “God sent Moses to deliver His people.”

My family had been wrestling with some hard circumstances, and just as things were looking the most hopeless, God sent divine provision into our situation. Seeing that verse reminded me that even when I thought I was crying in vain, He heard me and was already working it out.

Some dear friends were in a storm of their own, and seeing that verse gave me hope for their needs as well. As I was interceding for them, He was on His throne making His plans for their deliverance.

Take heart and hope in your time of turmoil today: God hears your prayers. More importantly, God answers prayers. The Israelites were becoming discouraged at their terrible, tortuous existence. Moses was happy hiding out on the back side of the desert. Only the God of the Universe could have orchestrated a plan where a Pharoh slaughters innocent children due to his fear, and one of those children becomes his grandson. Only the Lord of all Creation could have concocted a scheme where that baby grows up in splendor, learns the ways of the palace, and returns to bring His message of hope and freedom.

You may be a slave, or a shepherd, but God has a plan for you today as well. I pray that you will be strengthened for the journey ahead, and shored up by the knowledge that He sees it all and is working on your behalf with an answer too big for you to comprehend.

