“Dear friend, guard Clear Thinking and Common Sense with your life; don’t for a minute lose sight of them. They’ll keep your soul alive and well, they’ll keep you fit and attractive. You’ll travel safely, you’ll neither tire nor trip.” Proverbs 3:21-23

It isn’t unusual for me to see fishermen in their boats on the waterways as I travel to and from work each day. What is unusual is what I noticed one recent morning: a lone man, in waders up to his chest, casting his line.

Now, there is no way I would have been in the middle of that water! But he had confidence because of those odd looking rubber pants. His clothes were protected from the water, and the soles of the attached boots gave him good traction. He could fish without fear!

When the problems in life threaten to sweep us away, we can stand in firm confidence too. Our secret? Godly wisdom and common sense. How many of our “trip ups” could be avoided if we would learn what He has tried to teach us and apply it to our situation? We have to study His word until the precepts become second nature – in other words, common sense from above.

I might not have chest waders, but I do have His word at my disposal! My prayer is that we all keep our firm footing in Him.

