“God wasn’t at all pleased; but he let them do it their way,worship every new god that came down the pike—and live with the consequences.” Acts 7:42

“Relax mom – it’s just a cookie!”

My 10-year-old’s words rang in my ears for several days after our conversation. I had just confessed to eating a cookie that was leftover from the day before, when our church had ordered 300 of them from a local restaurant to distributed to the dads on Father’s Day.

To her it might have just been a cookie,  but to me it was another several hundred calories messing with my waistline! I understood something that I took the opportunity to remind her of a few days later: choices have consequences.

I had made the choice to eat that (delicious, chewy, chocolate chip) cookie, and I would have to live with the aftermath. I told her that no matter what choice we make, a consequence always follows – some good, and some not so much.

God loves us, and He is faithful to forgive us of all of our sins. But sometimes, even though we are forgiven, there are lasting effects of our decisions which we still must deal with.

My prayer for my daughter – and for all of us – is that we make the right choices now, and avoid dealing with the negative consequences later.

