“So they’ll be as unified and together as we are—I in them and you in me. Then they’ll be mature in this oneness, and give the godless world evidence that you’ve sent me and loved them in the same way you’ve loved me.” John 17:22-23

Whenever I see a group of similar vehicles on the road, it always gets my attention. The “wheels” in my head start to turn, as I try to figure out what their purpose is.

For instance, I recently saw a half dozen RVs pass me on the interstate. They weren’t identical. They were different makes, models, and ages. Some were motor homes, while others were trailers. But I knew one thing: it was too much of a coincidence for them not to be connected. They were going the same direction, with presumably the same destination. They had to be united somehow.

It’s also how the Body of Christ should work. We all look different, sound different, and have different points of view. But we are all on our way to a common destination: Heaven. We all have a common purpose: reaching the world around us for Christ. And those around us should sit up and take notice of our unity. It should make them ask us what we’re all about!

If you are already united with the Body, praise the Lord and stay prayerful that He protects that unity from the enemy’s attacks. If you are operating as some sort of Lone Ranger, I pray that God will break down any barriers between you and your fellow believers. I pray that He will set you with others who are like-minded and can help you reach your ultimate destination – together. Above all,  I pray we will all begin to walk in the kind of unity that will make the world stop, take notice, and start asking us what we’re doing.

