As I sat at the kitchen table reading our local paper’s article about the impending start of school, I felt a twinge of conviction: I had not remembered to pray for Anna Marie’s teachers! A bad experience in the first grade had taught me the importance of asking God for the right teacher for my daughter and her specific “quirks.” Beginning in second grade we had prayed about her assignment (and wondered why we didn’t before!) and had indeed gotten just the teachers she needed.

I remedied my oversight immediately, but it reminded me of something else about being a parent. I know a lot of other (better) parents who pray on a regular basis for their children’s futures – their spouses, their jobs, the calls God has on their lives. I have fallen woefully behind in this category, because I have been so busy praying for her in the “now” – her behavior, her needs, her growing faith. I can completely lose sight of my duty to pray for her future in the way that only I, as her mother, can, because I’m worried about my responsibilities with her in the now.

As adults, we too need to see the bigger picture. We can get so caught up in the day-to-day of just getting by that we forget that God has a bigger plan for our lives. We lose sight of where He is taking us because our head is to the ground and our nose is to the grindstone.

Thankfully, we serve a merciful God who isn’t going to let things slip through the cracks of our lives, or the lives of our children, because we’re living out our lives. But every once in a while, we need to be reminded to look up and over our circumstances, and seek God not just for today, but for tomorrow. The same God who gives us our daily bread is the same God who has plans for a hope and a future for us.

Today, take the time to pray not just for your immediate situation, but for your future. God has one for you, you know, and He wants it to be the best it can be.

 

