“But there’s far more to life for us. We’re citizens of high heaven! We’re waiting the arrival of the Savior,the Master,Jesus Christ,who will transform our earthy bodies into glorious bodies like his own. He’ll make us beautiful and whole with the same powerful skill by which he is putting everything as it should be,under and around him.” Phil. 3:20-21

When I was in college, 500 miles from everything I knew, I would sometimes drive through town and be struck with homesickness as I saw the houses along the way. They looked so warm and inviting, compared with my dorm room! I imagined the dinners and gatherings that were held in those homes. I even bet they had actual bathtubs, instead of our multiple shower stalls!

Was I having a good time at college? Sure I was. I made wonderful friends and even met my husband there. But it just wasn’t the same as being home, with the people and places I had grown up with (and food in my parents’ fridge that I hadn’t had to buy!) No matter how good it was, I couldn’t wait to get back home.

The Bible teaches us that this world is not our home if we are Christians. We are sojourners in a strange land. Yes, we have friends and family that we hold dear, and we have times of joy and pain. But ultimately, we have another place that is drawing us away.

It’s a home we’ve never laid eyes on, but we have a longing to go there all the same. We have an everlasting hope that there is more than just this life to look forward to. Always be looking ahead, looking towards Heaven’s eternal shores. Always keep your eyes on our true home.

