“Jesus then said, ‘I came into the world to bring everything into the clear light of day, making all the distinctions clear, so that those who have never seen will see, and those who have made a great pretense of seeing will be exposed as blind.'” John 9:39

I might scare some of you off from ever driving with me, but sometimes I have a problem with blind spots. You know, those places in your field of vision while on the road that you think you can see just fine, but you actually miss something really large – like, say, another car in the next lane.

I could blame it on my height (I’m 5’2″ on a good day) or the layout of the windows in my car. But the truth is, sometimes I just don’t look around me as well as I should.

The day Jesus healed the blind man outside the pool of Siloam, He actually saw two kinds of blind people: ones who couldn’t help it (the blind man who was born that way) and those who claimed they could see just fine, but really missed the point of who He was and what He was sent to do (the Pharisees).

He healed the deficiency of one, and pointed out the deficiencies of the others.

When we’ve been serving God for a while, sometimes we can become like the Pharisees. We think that the way we’ve been doing things (worshiping, presenting the Gospel, doing outreach) is the only way to do it. But when we take that attitude, we miss the point. One of the criticisms lodged against Jesus was that He healed on the Sabbath, when He was supposed to be doing no work. But His detractors missed the bigger picture that healing those people – changing their lives for the better, bringing them out from the outcasts and into fellowship with others – was more important than what day of the week it was.

I’m not saying that every “new thing” coming down the pike is of God. But as Christians, let’s make sure we aren’t dismissing something off hand just because it isn’t the way we’ve always done it. Let Him open our spiritual eyes and show us the scope of what He’s trying to accomplish. We should prayerfully consider the changes we see, and ask Him to give us His 20/20 vision.

