“There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus” Romans 8:1

I have several dear friends who are great atheletes. They run 5K races, half-marathons, and marathons.  They participate in triathalons. They even teach spin classes at their local gym!

I, on the other hand, am no athelete. I will likely never be – it just isn’t in my nature. I look at my friends’ toned physiques and listen to their stories, and think, “Man, I must really be a disappointment to them! They must wonder how I live with my couch-potato self!” I actually had this conversation with one of these friends one day. She was so sweet, she didn’t hesistate to shoot down my ridiculousness! She even complimented me on something about me that she admired. How is that for acceptance?

Just like my friends who are in way better physical shape than I am do not condemn me for my lack of athleticism, Paul tells us that there is no condemnation for those of us who have been ushered into the Body of Christ.

Jesus set a perfect example for us while He was on earth. He was fully man, and yet He never sinned. He was fully God, and yet He had compassion on us. He showed us the path to walk to reach the Father, yet He never condemns us when we stumble along the way. Instead, He encourages us and helps us get back up and start over.

Maybe you are feeling the sting of condemnation today. I assure you, it isn’t from God! Read His words. Let their truth soak in to your spirit. Even if you’ve made mistakes, He still loves you and wants to see you succeed. Don’t let anyone try to tell you any different! Walk in His love and grace today.

