“The people wouldn’t have stood for it—they were all praising God over what had happened. The man who had been miraculously healed was over forty years old.” Acts 4:22

Have you ever prayed for someone for a long time – I mean, a long, long time, years even – without seeing results? I have. I still am. But a scripture I read recently has given me renewed hope to never give up.

When Peter and John brought healing to the lame man at the Beautiful Gate, it caused an uproar among the religious leaders. How dare these men come in and challenge their authority by proclaiming Jesus to the people?

Those leaders threatened the Apostles, but the people weren’t behind them. In fact, they were astonished because the man had lived with this condition for forty years, and he was now walking around healed. Scripture specifically mentions the man’s age. Why do you think that is?

I think it was to give us hope. I think it was to show us that, no matter how long someone has been suffering, whether in sin or sickness, we need to keep praying. It doesn’t matter if the person has lived most of their lives in that condition. It doesn’t matter if it seems like their path is one they’ll never change. God is a miracle worker, and He doesn’t operate on anyone’s timetable but His own.

Keep praying. Keep believing. Keep hope alive that God can and will change things. Never give up!

