“He ordered his angels to guard you wherever you go. If you stumble, they’ll catch you; their job is to keep you from falling. You’ll walk unharmed among lions and snakes, and kick young lions and serpents from the path.” Psalm 91:11-13

My mom has a saying, she tells us each time we leave to go somewhere: “Pray as you go!” She even finds herself saying it when I leave her house to head home – even though I live right next door!

As the daughter of a mechanic, I’ve become accustomed to having vehicles that weren’t quite new. My dad has always been able to take cars that no one else wanted and get them running, or keep them running long past their “expiration date.” I’ve spent a lot of time praying over my vehicles as I drove down the road, but what about praying for protection from things I can’t see?

Am I praying that God will provide protection against poor decisions? Do I pray against ungodly influences? As I drop my daughter off at school each morning, am I praying for protection against peer pressure?

There are dangers we can see, and dangers we can’t see. The Lord is concerned for our safety on both counts! Yes, bad things happen to good people, but we never know what worse things His hands have saved us from.

