“Keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flow the springs of life.” Prov. 4:23

I was watching one of those “how it’s done” television shows recently. The subject was different types of candy manufacturing. One of the workers moved a face mask out of the way so he could sample what he had just made. I wondered how long it took him to overcome the temptation to just pop one in his mouth now and again!

I also pondered the face mask. Surely, even if he had been tempted to nibble without thinking, that barrier would have stopped him in his tracks. I also wondered if I needed to invest in some face coverings, so I’d be more aware of what I was eating!

The Lord doesn’t expect us to wear a paper mask over our mouths all day, but He does admonish us to guard our heart. It’s no less important to keep things out of our hearts that don’t belong there, than to keep junk out of our  mouths. The condition of our hearts determines the direction of our lives.

How do we guard our hearts? By studying the word and spending time in prayer. Time spent with the Master changes our outlook and makes us more like Him.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to search for “bulk order face masks” before the holidays get here!

