“…not avoiding worshiping together as some do but spurring each other on, especially as we see the big Day approaching.” Hebrews 10:25

I have a headlight out on my van. I’ve known about it for a couple of weeks, but getting my husband nailed down to fix it is another story! As often happens in these cases, knowing that I have such a defect makes others in the same situation stick out to me like a sore thumb.

I discovered my blown headlight by accident: I stopped at the edge of my property to check my mailbox one night after church. Since the box is on the passenger’s side (and I was alone) I had to get out of the van to check the mail and noticed it then. If that hadn’t happened, I still might not know about the bulb – unless someone else told me.

Do you ever wonder why God has instructed us to live the Christian life in community, even though so much of it – like prayer and study – is a solo pursuit? It’s because there are too many areas in our lives that we can be blind to unless someone points out things we need to improve on. Are we having an overly negative attitude, or gossiping, or losing patience with others? We might never notice if someone wasn’t around to hold us accountable.

Yes, we are each responsible for our own relationship with the Lord. But we are still human, and we still need the fellowship of other believers to help us grow. God knew that from the very beginning!

Relationships are messy. People are irritating. Fellowship is work. But, in the end, you’ll be a whole lot better off for the effort, and so will the others around you.

