“The tools of our trade aren’t for marketing or manipulation, but they are for demolishing that entire massively corrupt culture. We use our powerful God-tools for smashing warped philosophies, tearing down barriers erected against the truth of God, fitting every loose thought and emotion and impulse into the structure of life shaped by Christ.” 2 Cor. 10:4-5

My husband is a caterer, and he has brought some of the “tools of his trade” into our home. One of these is the small broom and stand-up dustpan you see in many restaurants. As much as I dislike sweeping, it helps not to have to bend over to use the dustpan!

The broom that came with the dustpan is small – basically child-sized. It isn’t meant for large-scale cleaning, but for “spot-sweeping.” Every time I think I’m saving myself some time by using it instead of my full-sized broom, I end up with a sore back and twice as much effort!

The remedy is a simple one: I’m using the wrong tool for the job.

We have to remember that the battles we fight in our Christian walk aren’t physical battles. They are spiritual battles. As such, we have to use spiritual weapons on them. Instead of fighting with our words and our actions, we have to use God’s words and our prayers to see victory. Trying to do things our way won’t gain us much but more frustration.

The Lord never promised we wouldn’t see battles. But He did provide us with the right tools to walk in victory. We just have to learn to use them.

