“My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous.” I John 2:1

Do you remember life before cell phones? I do – but my daughter, who was born in this millennium, never will. She doesn’t remember a time when we weren’t tethered to technology. Once in a while, she’ll ask if I visited so-and-so website when I was a kid, but I have to remind her that there were no such things back then!

Our smartphones make sure that we are never “unplugged,” and most of us have become so accustomed to the feeling that we don’t know what to do if we aren’t near ours. Lost service? We might as well have cut off our arm!

As much as we have gotten used to the idea of being connected to one another at all times, I wonder if we forget that we are blessed to be connected to the Creator of the universe in the same way?

Through Jesus, we have an advocate with the Father – someone granting us access 24/7/365. The only thing that can cause a lost signal is our sin – when we repent, He is right there waiting on the other end.

Jesus is our connection with the Father, speaking to Him on our behalf. That assurance helps us to lead victorious Christian lives. If it’s been awhile since you’ve made use of that connection, it’s never too late. He never drops a call, and His data connection is never down. He is always connected, and we can be too.

 

