“That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.” Romans 8:28

I don’t grocery shop like most people do. I am an avid “couponer” – I don’t buy anything unless it’s both on sale, and I have a coupon! This causes my grocery basket to contain pretty random items most weeks, as I follow the sales and specials.

Eventually, though, my pantry begins to take shape. One day I look in and, instead of a bunch of unrelated ingredients, I see the makings of a meal. It may have taken me several weeks to procure all the parts, but once I do, it’s worth the wait.

Our lives can look pretty random at times, too. It might seem like the events we encounter are haphazard, but the Bible teaches us that God is working through them all to make us into the finished product only He can see. I might not have anything to make with just a box of pasta, but after a few weeks I will have also bought tomatoes and meat on sale to make a whole meal.

Don’t give up and give in when your life’s ingredients don’t make any sense. Remember that God is shopping for all the ingredients He needs to complete His work in your life. There will be pain and disappointment along the way, but, in the end, it will all have been worth it.

