“Has anyone by fussing in front of the mirror ever gotten taller by so much as an inch? All this time and money wasted on fashion—do you think it makes that much difference? Instead of looking at the fashions,walk out into the fields and look at the wildflowers. They never primp or shop,but have you ever seen color and design quite like it? The ten best-dressed men and women in the country look shabby alongside them.” Matt. 6:27-29

My (younger) (only) sister left for a (solo!) flight to England yesterday. This isn’t the first time she has done so, but I get anxious each time. I spent yesterday tracking her flight on the internet and (anxiously) awaiting word on her progress. I had knots in my stomach all day!

My parents took her to the airport, and when I called my mother later I asked, “Is she out of your hands?” “And in His,” she replied.

The verse above was brought to my attention on multiple occasions yesterday.  I believe God was trying to reassure me that He cares for my sister,  and He has her in His hands.

The truth is, whether they are near or far, we have to leave our loved ones in His hands. That wayward child,  that unsaved spouse,  that troubled sibling – our best and only hope is in Him. Often we have to relinquish our grip on the situation to allow Him a chance to work.

I had to give my worry about my sister over to Him. Who or what do you need to surrender to Him today? Don’t stop praying and believing,  but leave the anxiety behind.

