Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise,making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.” Ephesians 5:15-16

None of us is promised tomorrow. That was a lesson I learned over and over again when part of my job was typing obituaries at the newspaper where I worked. Some of the deceased had lived long lives and left behind a legacy of service and love. Others were taken too soon and their loss was compounded by the loss of their potential.

Twice in the past month, my daughter has come home from school and told me that parents of classmates had died. Suddenly, and unexpectedly, and at an age close to my own, these lives were gone. That sort of thing has a way of making one consider one’s own mortality.

My question to you (and to myself) is, what are we doing with our today?

Are we using our time loving others and building bridges, or are we immersing ourselves in meaningless drama and creating strife. Maybe we’ve been known to do both. I encourage you to inspect your life. Recognize that your time is short, but don’t dwell on it. Make the most of what you have been given, and who you have been given.

Ask God to help you make the most of your today.

