“…from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I,” Psalm 61:2

Bad news after bad news – sometimes that seems like all we hear. That expression, “When it rains, it pours?” I’ve lived that more than I’d care to remember.

One night I was do downcast I couldn’t even muster the strength to pray about a situation one more time. I knew I needed the Lord to lift me up. I opened the Bible app on my phone (since it was all I had handy at the time.) And something amazing happened. The verse I read didn’t even specifically pertain to my situation, but I felt God’s presence! Even if it wasn’t a word targeted to me, it was still His word. It was still the hand I needed to get me out of my pit.

Sometimes we feel like spending time with Him each day is a waste of time. Sometimes if seems like we’re pressing forward in the Word and nothing is coming of it. But we can’t lose hope. No, that passage may not deliver you today, but it might deliver you another time. The key is to be faithful, and to have faith that His word is never wasted.

Keep studying. Keep praying. Keep crying out to Him.

