“We use our powerful God-tools for smashing warped philosophies, tearing down barriers erected against the truth of God, fitting every loose thought and emotion and impulse into the structure of life shaped by Christ.” 2 Cor. 10:5

I realized recently that I’d been doing a lot of complaining. And grumbling. And generally being grouchy. I just was not in a very good mood!

I had already begun to ask God to forgive me and help me to watch my attitude, when one of our pastors taught a study on James 3 – taming the tongue. He used a cow tongue as part of his illustration, which created a good bit of buzz around the church! It had many people thinking about the words that came out of their mouths. I was scheduled for nursery that night, so I missed that particular “treat!”

As I continued to pray about my own tongue, the Lord showed me that it began not with the sounds I was making – that was the end result. The real problem was with my thoughts. Those thoughts were being allowed (by me) to run rampant, and eventually they made their way out of my mouth.

To control what others heard, I had to control what I thought. I had to conform myself to the image of Christ I was shown in the Word, not just run with whatever random idea popped into my head.

It is my prayer that we won’t just worry about what we say, but we’ll nip it in the bud by going to the source – our thought lives. We have to take control of that, or we lose all hope of taming our tongues.

 

