“You serve me a six-course dinner right in front of my enemies. You revive my drooping head; my cup brims with blessing.” Ps. 23:5

I’ve heard the verse “my cup runneth over” my whole life. I used to wonder how one attained such a state of Nirvana! I mean, I must be doing something wrong, because there are days when I am definitely NOT overflowing with blessing!

The Lord has taught me, though, that it isn’t an all-or-nothing proposition. Yes, there are days when I’m full up and over-the-top with peace and joy and blessings. But some days, well, my cup may be overflowing, but it definitely isn’t with those good things! No one, no matter how brave of a face they try to put on, is in “the zone” every minute of every day.

It’s just another reason why, as the Body of Christ, we need each other. Maybe one day I’m doing well enough to share my blessings with you, but others days you may need to return the favor. God knew that we would not be able to sustain our walk on our own, without the support of others. That interaction helps us grow as believers and show His love to the world around us.

Is your cup overflowing with blessings today? That’s great! God probably has someone in your path that could use your excess. Do you need to be on the receiving end? That’s great too, because it’s helping build you and the Body. Be open, and don’t let pride hold you back from what He is wanting to do in you.

It may not be an all-or-nothing situation, but it can definitely be a win-win.

 

