“Be cheerful no matter what; pray all the time; thank God no matter what happens. This is the way God wants you who belong to Christ Jesus to live.” I Thes. 5:16-18

I have been through a lot of troubles in my life. Financial crisis, job loss, family emergencies – you name it, I’ve probably experienced it.

We’re instructed in I Thessalonians to give thanks no matter what happens. That’s all very nice to say, but how does it look in practice, in the real world?

Trust. Being thankful in a crisis or difficulty means that we trust God that He will deliver us through it. We trust that He has our best interest at heart, that He hears our prayers. We trust that His timing and His ways are higher than ours, and that His strength is perfect – complete – and will carry us through.

What are you going through today? Join with me as we begin this week of thanks by trusting Him and thanking Him no matter what. It doesn’t mean that our troubles will immediately be over, but it does mean that our focus will change. We have to practice thankful trust until it becomes our first reaction, not our last resort.

