“How can I stand up before God and show proper respect to the high God? Should I bring an armload of offerings topped off with yearling calves? Would God be impressed with thousands of rams, with buckets and barrels of olive oil? Would he be moved if I sacrificed my firstborn child, my precious baby, to cancel my sin?  But he’s already made it plain how to live, what to do, what God is looking for in men and women. It’s quite simple: Do what is fair and just to your neighbor, be compassionate and loyal in your love, And don’t take yourself too seriously take God seriously.” Micah 6:6-8

My country preacher of a grandfather used to say that the Lord’s way was so simple that a wayfaring fool could find it. You know what? He was absolutely right.

I’ll admit, I’ve been at times in my life where I wanted and needed God to move in a situation, desperately. Yes, that’s the right word. Desperate. I’m sure you’ve been there too – you would have done anything, anything at all, to get His attention.

What we haven’t realized, though, is that we already have His attention. He has given us instructions, and if we follow them, He’ll take care of the rest. He doesn’t expect us to do ourselves bodily harm or sacrifice an animal to have Him move. All He wants from us is to treat others with respect and compassion, and to take Him more seriously than we take ourselves. That’s it.

If you are crying out to Him today, do it in the hope and knowledge that He hears you. Do it knowing full well that He has given us some simple instructions, and anything after that He will take care of. When we show His love and mercy to those around us, we take the focus off ourselves and place it onto Him – and that’s when He can really do a work in our lives.

