” …so that he might present the church to himself in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish.” Ephesians 5:27

I do not do a lot of ironing in my everyday life. I’m more of a “throw it in the dryer for a few minutes” type of girl. But over the weekend I had to steam the creases from over three dozen large round tablecloths for a church function. Let’s just say, it was a long, slow, hot process!

As I spent hour upon hour bent over with the steamer, the Lord began to speak to me about some trials I was going through. Through heat, pressure, and time,  I was being “dewrinkled.” God was getting out the defects in my spiritual fabric so that I would be pleasing to Him.

Is the job done yet? By no means! Is it pleasant or enjoyable? Not at all. But just like those tablecloths laying beautiful and smooth in their destined places, one day, we will fulfill our destiny with Christ – dewrinkled, stain-free, and perfected in Him.

