Usually, I’m pretty on top of Christmas festivities by this point in the season . My halls are decked by Thanksgiving weekend. I’ve gathered my little family for lighting Advent candles. We’ve at least watched Rudolf the Red Nosed Reindeer!

This year, none of that has happened. I’ve managed to put up my tree and my Nativity set, but the Christmas village, stockings, and garlands are still boxed up. I don’t even know where the Advent wreath is! And there has been no Frosty or Rudolph on our TV screen.
What happened? Car trouble, complicated family situations,  and busy work schedules have conspired to take up my thought processes. My focus has been anywhere but the manger.

I have been burdened with guilt (of course) but it has also made me rethink my definition of “preparation.” Have I gotten so caught up in the ornaments and lights that I have missed the most important preparation of all – my heart? Have I examined my life and made sure that I am ready to receive the unspeakable gift of Jesus?

“Let every heart prepare Him room” isn’t just a pretty phrase from a Christmas carol. It’s our obligation in response to His coming. Join with me, and let’s make sure our hearts are ready for Him.

