“More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope,” Romans 5:3-4

My husband recently bought our dogs a new container for their dog food. It is custom made for that purpose,  and much nicer than the old trash can we had been using!

It also came with a scoop, and therein lies the problem. Even though the container can hold 50 pounds of food, it came with a tiny, one cup scoop! We have three, 70-pound labs, and each eats four cups. It is a true test of their mettle to have to sit patiently as I dole out 12 cups of food, one-by-one!

Their patient endurance made me think of my own behavior during times of testing. The dogs endure their wait because they know something better is coming that will be well worth it. They have faith in me and hope that I will give them good things at the right time. We should have the same faith in God, because He knows the right time to provide what we need.

Yes, waiting is the hardest part. I’m waiting on God to do some big, long-overdue (in my eyes!) things in my life. But as I look at the new year, my prayer is that my wait will do a work in me.

