“For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people,” Titus 2:11

I was watching one of those Charlie Brown specials with my daughter over the holidays, and the words coming out of the mouths of those cartoon characters surprised me.

“Look at you! Why can’t you just clean yourself up? You never do anything right!”

Two girls were addressing Pig Pen, the boy trailing a perpetual cloud of dust. I was shocked at how closely the dialogue mirrored that spoken by some Christians (including, at times, myself.)

Yes, maybe Mr. Pen could use a good scrubbing. But you know what? So could I. So could you. The older I get, the more I realize that none of us – no, not one – does everything right, all of the time. More often than not, as I begin to stand judgement over another, the Holy Spirit begins to point out my own shortfalls.

Thank God that His grace has come for you, me, and every other messed-up person on the planet. Thank God His love covers us. Thank God that He sees us through the filter of His son and not our sin.

Grace isn’t a license to do wrong, but a help for when we do. And we will. Thank Him today for grace, and the salvation it brings to us all.

