“All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness,” 2 Timothy 3:16 I pulled out a measuring cup – one we received as a wedding gift. The only problem was, much of the painted markings on the side have worn off over time. I struggled to figure out where the line was so I knew I had the correct amount of my ingredients. I know I should replace the cup, but I suppose habit and sentimentality keep it in my cupboard. I have the idea that it’s “close enough,” but I know it’s only a matter of time before it to causes me an (avoidable) cooking error! In our lives we all need “measuring lines.” Society and our own good sense tell us that there must be standards. Unfortunately, our sinful nature wants to obscure those lines as much as possible. Where do we find those lines? In God’s word. It is amazing to me that something written so long ago, by so many different people, still has merit for me today. It is the miracle of the Word – “God-breathed” as some versions say. From the very nostrils of God, to our hearts. I encourage you to look for those lines today, even if it feels like it has been a long time since you have seen them. They aren’t restrictive – they free us to operate in the way our Creator intended. Open yourself to His ways today.

